narrator & ensemble 

PHACE | Hell

16.March.2021 // 19:30
Wiener Konzerthaus, Berio Saal

PHACE Series 20/21 – N°3

A production by PHACE & Wiener Konzerthaus


François Sarhan, Sprecher, Text und Musik 

Alvaro Colas Leon, saxophone
Stefan Obmann, trombone
Berndt Thurner, percussion
Mathilde Hoursiangou, piano
Ivana Pristasova, violin
Maximilan Ölz, double bass
Samuel Toro Perez, electric guitar

The curious show “HELL” by Sarhan is feverish and sarcastic: Rhythmic voices from the off meet contemporary sound phrases, mixed with set pieces from jazz, rock and pop. Neither a show nor a concert. More like a diverse set in the form of a Radio Sarhan studio. The set presents eight musicians and microphones, chamber music generously interwoven with rock music, computers, samples, words, bodies that speak, music that speaks. In a feverishly sarcastic atmosphere reminiscent of the heyday of experimental rock and the spirit of Zappa, the dense score examines in detail the rhythms, hesitations and pauses of ordinary language. And it’s this expressive energy that is the star of the show: the voice of the narration, the dictaphone, the confession, the conversation. It creates its own rhythm, determines the phrasing and enlivens writing.



François Sarhan
Hell for narrator and ensemble, 2005 (austrian premiere) 60’ 

Subscriptions & Tickets

Get your ticket now and become a member of the PHACE-Community!

As subscriber you will get detailed information sent by post mail one week before the concerts.

Subscriber Price
members EUR 71,-
regular price EUR 86,-

Wheelchair space + accompanying person members
members EUR 79,30
regular EUR 87,-

youth subscription
regular EUR 48,-

Prices of single tickets are available as from fall 2020!

Members of the Wr. Konzerthausgesellschaft receive a 17,5% discount on up to 2 subscription series per season.

Event Dates


By using this website you agree to accept our Privacy Policy and Terms & Conditions