music, visual arts, performance

Danse Macabre

23.May.2020 // 20:30
Wien, Wiener Festwochen / F23
world premiere
further performances: 24. & 26.-.30.May

 

commissioned by Wiener Festwochen
supported by Dorotheum

Artists

Markus Schinwald, idea, concept, stage

Matthew Chamberlain, music

with Oleg Soulimenko a.o.

 

PHACE

Thomas Frey, flute
Alessandro Baticci, flute
Markus Sepperer, oboe
Claire Colombo, oboe
Reinhold Brunner, clarinet
Theresa Dinkhauser, clarinet
Christof Dienz, bassoon
Edurne Santos, bassoon
Reinhard Zmölnig, horn
Manuel Egger, horn
Peter Lengyelvari, horn
Spiros Laskaridis, trumpet
Peter Weitzer, trumpet
Luis Abicht, trumpet
Stefan Obmann, trombone
Thomas Märzendorfer, trombone
Taiko Distelberger, trombone
Bernhard Plos, trombone
Simon Teurezbacher, tuba
NN, tuba
Kimiko Krutz, keyboard
Luca Lavuri, keyboard
Mathilde Hoursiangou, keyboard
Berndt Thurner, percussion
Igor Gross, percussion
Alex Lipowski, percussion

Following a commission by the Wiener Festwochen, austrian-born and internationally acclaimed visual artist Markus Schinwald has produced a Danse Macabre. This visual scheme first adopted in the 14th century is an allegory symbolising Death’s equalising power over people and became a major iconographic theme of the Late Middle Ages. A personification of death invites protagonists from all walks of life to join in this final, inescapable dance. With his new work, Markus Schinwald, renowned for his visual manipulations of bodies and spaces, returns to the medium of performance. Here he elaborates a system of fragmented partition walls that wrap themselves around the audience like a membrane, permeable only to the physical bodies of the performers. A new composition for 23 live musicians by young American artist Matthew Chamberlain accompanies the macabre procession. There is no escape!

information on schedules and reservation soon!

Tickets
Venue: F23
Duration: ca. 50 Min.
Tickets: 30 Euro

Event Dates

May 2020
  • Date
    Project
    Location
  • 23.May.2020 20:30

    Danse Macabre (Cancellation due to COVID-19)

    Vienna, Wiener Festwochen, F23

    Following a commission by the Wiener Festwochen, austrian-born and internationally acclaimed visual artist Markus Schinwald has produced a Danse Macabre together with the music of the young US-American composer Matthew Chamberlain...

    Read more
  • 24.May.2020 20:30

    Danse Macabre (Cancellation due to COVID-19)

    Vienna, Wiener Festwochen, F23

    Following a commission by the Wiener Festwochen, austrian-born and internationally acclaimed visual artist Markus Schinwald has produced a Danse Macabre together with the music of the young US-American composer Matthew Chamberlain...

    Read more
  • 26.May.2020 20:30

    Danse Macabre (Cancellation due to COVID-19)

    Vienna, Wiener Festwochen, F23

    Following a commission by the Wiener Festwochen, austrian-born and internationally acclaimed visual artist Markus Schinwald has produced a Danse Macabre together with the music of the young US-American composer Matthew Chamberlain...

    Read more
  • 27.May.2020 20:30

    Danse Macabre (Cancellation due to COVID-19)

    Vienna, Wiener Festwochen, F23

    Following a commission by the Wiener Festwochen, austrian-born and internationally acclaimed visual artist Markus Schinwald has produced a Danse Macabre together with the music of the young US-American composer Matthew Chamberlain...

    Read more
  • 28.May.2020 20:30

    Danse Macabre (Cancellation due to COVID-19)

    Vienna, Wiener Festwochen, F23

    Following a commission by the Wiener Festwochen, austrian-born and internationally acclaimed visual artist Markus Schinwald has produced a Danse Macabre together with the music of the young US-American composer Matthew Chamberlain...

    Read more
  • 29.May.2020 20:30

    Danse Macabre (Cancellation due to COVID-19)

    Vienna, Wiener Festwochen, F23

    Following a commission by the Wiener Festwochen, austrian-born and internationally acclaimed visual artist Markus Schinwald has produced a Danse Macabre together with the music of the young US-American composer Matthew Chamberlain...

    Read more
  • 30.May.2020 20:30

    Danse Macabre (Cancellation due to COVID-19)

    Vienna, Wiener Festwochen, F23

    Following a commission by the Wiener Festwochen, austrian-born and internationally acclaimed visual artist Markus Schinwald has produced a Danse Macabre together with the music of the young US-American composer Matthew Chamberlain...

    Read more

 

By using this website you agree to accept our Privacy Policy and Terms & Conditions

music, visual arts, performance

Danse Macabre

23.May.2020 // 20:30
Wien, Wiener Festwochen / F23
world premiere
further performances: 24. & 26.-.30.May

 

commissioned by Wiener Festwochen
supported by Dorotheum

Artists

Markus Schinwald, idea, concept, stage

Matthew Chamberlain, music

with Oleg Soulimenko a.o.

 

PHACE

Thomas Frey, flute
Alessandro Baticci, flute
Markus Sepperer, oboe
Claire Colombo, oboe
Reinhold Brunner, clarinet
Theresa Dinkhauser, clarinet
Christof Dienz, bassoon
Edurne Santos, bassoon
Reinhard Zmölnig, horn
Manuel Egger, horn
Peter Lengyelvari, horn
Spiros Laskaridis, trumpet
Peter Weitzer, trumpet
Luis Abicht, trumpet
Stefan Obmann, trombone
Thomas Märzendorfer, trombone
Taiko Distelberger, trombone
Bernhard Plos, trombone
Simon Teurezbacher, tuba
NN, tuba
Kimiko Krutz, keyboard
Luca Lavuri, keyboard
Mathilde Hoursiangou, keyboard
Berndt Thurner, percussion
Igor Gross, percussion
Alex Lipowski, percussion

Der in Österreich geborene, international erfolgreiche bildende Künstler Markus Schinwald verwirklicht im Auftrag der Wiener Festwochen einen Totentanz. Diese im 14. Jahrhundert aufgekommene Darstellungsform versinnbildlicht die gleichmachende Macht des Todes über die Menschen und wurde zu einem der großen ikonografischen Themen des Spätmittelalters. Eine Personifizierung des Todes fordert die Vertreter*innen aller Lebensbereiche zum unausweichlichen letzten Tanz. Schinwald, bekannt für seine visuellen Manipulationen von Körpern und Räumen, kehrt mit dieser Arbeit zum Medium der Performance zurück. Er entwickelt ein System aus fragmentierten Wänden, die sich wie eine Membran um das Publikum legen, durchlässig nur für die Körper der Performer*innen. Eine neue Komposition des jungen, US-amerikanischen Künstlers Matthew Chamberlain für 23 Live-Musiker*innen begleitet die makabre Prozession. Es gibt kein Entkommen!

Informationen zu Fahrtzeiten und Anmeldung folgen.

Tickets
Ort: F23
Dauer: ca. 50 Min.
Preis: 30 Euro

Event Dates

May 2020
  • Date
    Project
    Location
  • 23.May.2020 20:30

    Danse Macabre (Absage wegen COVID-19)

    Vienna, Wiener Festwochen, F23

    Der in Österreich geborene, international erfolgreiche bildende Künstler Markus Schinwald verwirklicht im Auftrag der Wiener Festwochen einen Totentanz mit der Musik des jungen US-amerikanischen Komponisten Matthew Chamberlain...

    Read more
  • 24.May.2020 20:30

    Danse Macabre (Absage wegen COVID-19)

    Vienna, Wiener Festwochen, F23

    Der in Österreich geborene, international erfolgreiche bildende Künstler Markus Schinwald verwirklicht im Auftrag der Wiener Festwochen einen Totentanz mit der Musik des jungen US-amerikanischen Komponisten Matthew Chamberlain...

    Read more
  • 26.May.2020 20:30

    Danse Macabre (Absage wegen COVID-19)

    Vienna, Wiener Festwochen, F23

    Der in Österreich geborene, international erfolgreiche bildende Künstler Markus Schinwald verwirklicht im Auftrag der Wiener Festwochen einen Totentanz mit der Musik des jungen US-amerikanischen Komponisten Matthew Chamberlain...

    Read more
  • 27.May.2020 20:30

    Danse Macabre (Absage wegen COVID-19)

    Vienna, Wiener Festwochen, F23

    Der in Österreich geborene, international erfolgreiche bildende Künstler Markus Schinwald verwirklicht im Auftrag der Wiener Festwochen einen Totentanz mit der Musik des jungen US-amerikanischen Komponisten Matthew Chamberlain...

    Read more
  • 28.May.2020 20:30

    Danse Macabre (Absage wegen COVID-19)

    Vienna, Wiener Festwochen, F23

    Der in Österreich geborene, international erfolgreiche bildende Künstler Markus Schinwald verwirklicht im Auftrag der Wiener Festwochen einen Totentanz mit der Musik des jungen US-amerikanischen Komponisten Matthew Chamberlain...

    Read more
  • 29.May.2020 20:30

    Danse Macabre (Absage wegen COVID-19)

    Vienna, Wiener Festwochen, F23

    Der in Österreich geborene, international erfolgreiche bildende Künstler Markus Schinwald verwirklicht im Auftrag der Wiener Festwochen einen Totentanz mit der Musik des jungen US-amerikanischen Komponisten Matthew Chamberlain...

    Read more
  • 30.May.2020 20:30

    Danse Macabre (Absage wegen COVID-19)

    Vienna, Wiener Festwochen, F23

    Der in Österreich geborene, international erfolgreiche bildende Künstler Markus Schinwald verwirklicht im Auftrag der Wiener Festwochen einen Totentanz mit der Musik des jungen US-amerikanischen Komponisten Matthew Chamberlain...

    Read more

 

By using this website you agree to accept our Privacy Policy and Terms & Conditions