music theatre

Ephémère Enchainé

WORLD PREMIERE
16. & 17. Aug 2019
20:00
Bregenzer Festspiele

GERMAN PREMIERE
Octobre 2021
Musiktage Donaueschingen

PHACE

Alvaro Collao Leon, saxophone
Spiros Laskaridis, trumpet
Stefan Obmann, trombone
Samuel Toro Perez, guitar
Mathilde Hoursiangou, keyboard, piano
Ivana Pristasova, violin
Sophia Goidinger-Koch, viola
Roland Schueler, cello
Berndt Thurner, percussion
Maximilian Ölz, (electric) bass
Florian Bogner, sound design
 

& Something Out There

Frederick Sakham, Bass
Jennifer Torrence, Percussion
Adam Rosenblatt, Percussion
Primoz Sukic, Guitar
Gwen Rouger, Keyboards & Electronics
François Sarhan, Voice

PROGRAM

Ephémère Enchainé
a music theatre by Francois Sarhan
– a production by Bregenzer Festspiele together with the Donaueschinger Musiktage and  La Muse en Circuit

A unique cosmos full of music, stories, pictures and films fills the workshop stage on two consecutive evenings. The French artist François Sarhan seduces the audience with real and deceptively real stories, enigmatic figures and mysterious sounds.

Inspired by the Russian avant-garde and wondrous finds of European cultural history, grotesque and humorous worlds emerge. Again and again, figures such as Fjodor Dostojewski’s fantastic narrator Bobok or the peculiar Professor Henry Glaçon emerge.

In Sarhan’s self-designed and collaged stage sets of paper, his music and lyrics resound. Musicians of the international ensemble Something Out There and the Ensemble Phace from Vienna play on different stages within the space. The audience is invited to move freely in this cosmos on one or both evenings, which have different contents, and to leave it again and again during the several-hour performances. The fleeting nature of music, of the performing arts, can be experienced directly and at the same time enclosed in a space, as the French title of these evenings expresses: Éphémère Enchainé.

Music | Text | Concept | Space     François Sarhan

Press commentaries

“The Ensemble Phace, probably one of the most renowned contemporary ensembles for new music in Austria, shone with remarkable enthusiasm and wit. The musicians, all of them splendid soloists, also knew how to convince in their perfect interplay.” Kulturzeitschrift, Dagmar Ullmann-Bautz

“What is Sarhan doing? With the Ensemble Phace he has gathered versed musicians who turn his composition into the most impressive element of the evening. One can navigate through the music of the late 20th century, discovering numerous quotations from jazz, and yet never get the impression that Sarhan is an eclectic.” Vorarlberger Nachrichten, Christa Dietrich

“Highly virtuoso and partly improvising, his performers – most of them musicians – perform the dreamlike sequences. […] As they walk and stumble through wondrous worlds, they themselves become integral parts of a work of art that makes the boundaries between genres, places and times disappear in a revealing and highly entertaining way.” Der Westallgäuer

“Sarhan narrates through all these stories, loosely entwining them as his two music ensembles move through the genres with breath-taking certainty. On the one hand, there are the ten musicians of “Ensemble Phace”, who prove themselves as a rock band as well as in romantic-symphonic euphony.
[…]
The spectators explore the world of changing wonders (Wunderwandelwelt), closely listening, because now it is evident: no one can fully grasp this world, it is about picking up fragments and combining them. Maybe the infinitely filigree rhythm game of Jennifer Torrence and Adam Rosenblatt with the soundscapes of the guitarist Samuel Toro Perez? Or the stupendous versatility of the violinist Ivana Pristasova with the expressionist film sequences?” ORF, Ingrid Bertel

“The spectators are invited to move freely within the three hours, leaving for breaks at one’s own discretion. But in the end, only a few choose to leave Sarhan’s cosmos, spellbound by the evening’s proceedings. Wonderful world of changing wonders.” Südkurier, Elisabeth Schwind

Event Dates

August 2019
  • Date
    Project
    Location
  • 17.Aug.2019 20:00

    Ephémère Enchainé - Music Theatre - Francois Sarhan

    Bregenzer Festspiele, Werkstattbühne

    A unique cosmos full of music, stories, pictures and films fills the workshop stage on two consecutive evenings. The French artist François Sarhan seduces the audience with real and deceptively real stories, enigmatic figures and mysterious sounds.

    Read more
  • 16.Aug.2019 20:00

    Ephémère Enchainé - Music Theatre - Francois Sarhan

    Bregenzer Festspiele, Werkstattbühne

    A unique cosmos full of music, stories, pictures and films fills the workshop stage on two consecutive evenings. The French artist François Sarhan seduces the audience with real and deceptively real stories, enigmatic figures and mysterious sounds.

    Read more

 

By using this website you agree to accept our Privacy Policy and Terms & Conditions

music theatre

Ephémère Enchainé

WORLD PREMIERE
16. & 17. Aug 2019
20:00
Bregenzer Festspiele

GERMAN PREMIERE
Octobre 2021
Musiktage Donaueschingen

PHACE

Alvaro Collao Leon, saxophone
Spiros Laskaridis, trumpet
Stefan Obmann, trombone
Samuel Toro Perez, guitar
Mathilde Hoursiangou, keyboard, piano
Ivana Pristasova, violin
Sophia Goidinger-Koch, viola
Roland Schueler, cello
Berndt Thurner, percussion
Maximilian Ölz, (electric) bass
Florian Bogner, sound design
 

& Something Out There

Frederick Sakham, Bass
Jennifer Torrence, Percussion
Adam Rosenblatt, Percussion
Primoz Sukic, Guitar
Gwen Rouger, Keyboards & Electronics
François Sarhan, Voice

PROGRAMM

Ephémère Enchainé
Musiktheater von Francois Sarhan
eine gemeinsame Produktion der Bregenzer Festspiele mit den Donaueschinger Musiktagen und La Muse en Circuit

Ein einzigartiger Kosmos voller Musik, Erzählungen, Bildern und Filmen erfüllt an zwei aufeinanderfolgenden Abenden die Werkstattbühne. Der französische Künstler François Sarhan verführt das Publikum mit echten und täuschend echten Geschichten, rätselhaften Figuren und geheimnisvollen Klängen.

Inspiriert von der russischen Avantgarde und wundersamen Fundstücken der europäischen Kulturgeschichte entstehen groteske und humorvolle Welten. Immer wieder tauchen Figuren wie Fjodor Dostojewskis phantastischer Erzähler Bobok oder der eigenartige Professor Henry Glaçon auf.

In den von Sarhan selbst entworfenen und collagierten Bühnenbildern aus Papier erklingen seine Musik und Texte. Musiker des internationalen Ensembles Something Out There sowie des Ensemble Phace aus Wien spielen auf unterschiedlichen Bühnen innerhalb des Raums. Das Publikum ist eingeladen, sich an einem oder beiden Abenden, die unterschiedliche Inhalte haben, frei in diesem Kosmos zu bewegen und ihn während der mehrstündigen Aufführungen auch immer wieder zu verlassen. Das Flüchtige der Musik, der darstellenden Künste wird direkt erlebbar und gleichzeitig in einem Raum eingeschlossen, wie der französische Titel dieser Abende ausdrückt: Éphémère Enchainé.

Musik | Text | Konzept | Raum François Sarhan

Pressestimmen

„Das Ensemble Phace, wohl eines der renommiertesten zeitgenössischen Ensembles für neue Musik in Österreich brillierte mit beachtlicher Spielfreude und Esprit. Die Musiker*innen, allesamt glanzvolle Solist*innen, wussten auch in ihrem vollendeten Zusammenspiel zu überzeugen.“ Kulturzeitschrift, Dagmar Ullmann-Bautz

„Was tut Sarhan? Er hat mit dem Ensemble Phace versierte Musiker versammelt, die seine Komposition zum Eindrücklichsten machen, was der Abend zu bieten hat. Man hangelt sich durch die Musikgeschichte des späten 20. Jahrhunderts, entdeckt zahlreche Zitate aus dem Bereich des Jazz und erhält dennoch nie den Eindruck, dass Sarhan ein Eklektizist ist.“ Vorarlberger Nachrichten, Christa Dietrich

„Hoch virtuos und teils improvisierend setzen seine Darstellerinnen und Darsteller – die meisten auch Musiker – die traumhaften Sequenzen um. […] Beim Wandeln und Stolpern durch wundersame Welten werden sie selbst zu Bestandteilen eines Kunstwerks, das die Grenzen zwischen Genres, Orten und Zeiten auf entlarvender und höchst unterhaltsamer Art verschwinden lässt.“ Der Westallgäuer

„Sarhan führt als Erzähler durch all diese Geschichten, verschlauft sie lose ineinander, während seine beiden musikalischen Ensembles sich mit atemberaubender Sicherheit durch die Genres bewegen. Da gibt es einerseits das zehnköpfige „Ensemble Phace“, das sich als Rockband ebenso bewährt wie im romantisch-symphonischen Schönklang
[…]
Leise, mit gespitzten Ohren erkunden die ZuschauerInnen die Wunderwandeltwelt, denn jetzt ist klar: Niemand kann diese Welt ganz erfassen, es geht darum, Fragmente aufzunehmen und sie selber zu kombinieren. Vielleicht das unendlich filigrane Rhythmusspiel von Jennifer Torrence und Adam Rosenblatt mit den Klangräumen des Gitarristen Samuel Toro Perez? Oder die stupende Vielseitigkeit der Geigerin Ivana Pristasova mit den expressionistischen Filmsequenzen?“ ORF, Ingrid Bertel

„Eigentlich sind die Zuschauer aufgefordert, sich die drei Stunden durch eigene Pausensetzung zu gestalten. Aber letztlich werden sie von den Abläufen doch so gefangen gehalten, dass nur wenige davon Gebrauch machen. Wunderbare Wunderwandelwelt.“ Südkurier, Elisabeth Schwind

Event Dates

August 2019
  • Date
    Project
    Location
  • 16.Aug.2019 20:00

    Ephémère Enchainé - Music Theatre - Francois Sarhan

    Bregenzer Festspiele, Werkstattbühne

    Ein einzigartiger Kosmos voller Musik, Erzählungen, Bildern und Filmen erfüllt an zwei aufeinanderfolgenden Abenden die Werkstattbühne. Der französische Künstler François Sarhan verführt das Publikum mit echten und täuschend echten Geschichten, rätselhaften Figuren und geheimnisvollen Klängen.

    Read more
  • 17.Aug.2019 20:00

    Ephémère Enchainé - Music Theatre - Francois Sarhan

    Bregenzer Festspiele, Werkstattbühne

    Ein einzigartiger Kosmos voller Musik, Erzählungen, Bildern und Filmen erfüllt an zwei aufeinanderfolgenden Abenden die Werkstattbühne. Der französische Künstler François Sarhan verführt das Publikum mit echten und täuschend echten Geschichten, rätselhaften Figuren und geheimnisvollen Klängen.

    Read more

 

By using this website you agree to accept our Privacy Policy and Terms & Conditions