ensemble

PHACE »Figuren am Horizont«

15.May.2020 // 19:30
Wiener Konzerthaus, Berio Hall

PHACE Series 19/20 – N°4

a production by PHACE & Wiener Konzerthaus

 

 

 

ARTISTS

Ivana Pristašová, Violine
Johannes Kalitzke
, Dirigent

PHACE

 

 

 

PROGRAM

Johannes Maria Staud
New Work for ensemble (2019/20) – world premiere
commisioned by PHACE, Osterfestival Tirol, kindly supported by Wiener Konzerthaus

Anna Korsun
Plexus for ensemble (2014) (Austrian premiere)

Joanna Wozny
like little … sunderings
for flute, clarinet, saxophone, piano, violin, cello, double bass and tape (2016)

Johannes Kalitzke
Figuren am Horizont
– five obituaries for violin solo and six players (2011)

 

Screaming, gasping and shimmering – emerging from pulsing, tonal shoals, just to vanish into dizzying heights. Playful, but virtuous, Anna Korsun’s piece for ensemble, Plexus, creates a compelling hyper-instrument, where separate instrumental actions constitute tiny segments, which come together as an eerily beautiful sound structure.

Like little … sunderings by Joanna Wozny engages with the acoustics of language from two different angles: Playing with electronic effects, the elements of speech are transformed, mutating into noise. By dissolving whispered words into their reduced form of hissed sounds, into filtered, white whirring of electronic sounds, noises are sensed as (imaginable) language.

Johannes Kalitzke’s work Figuren am Horizont (figures on the horizon) evokes sonorous memories of departed artistic colleagues. No names are mentioned – the composer stages different types of obituaries: In each of the five movements, a different approach guides the change of state. The transition from life to death is either faced in approval or total reluctance. Abstract mathematical principles, historical points of reference function as metaphors as well as a fundament for the composition. A concluding sketch of a house of light assembles familiar elements, underlying a process of clarification, “only leaving the shadow of the Wienerlied”.

Johannes Maria Staud’s new piece for ensemble is expected with excitement.

Einzeltickets für PHACE-Zykluskonzerte

Available at the website of Wiener Konzerthaus, as from autumn 2019!
www.konzerthaus.at

Event Dates

May 2020
  • Date
    Project
    Location
  • 15.May.2020 19:30

    PHACE series @KH #4 | Figuren am Horizont

    Vienna, Wiener Konzerthaus, Berio Hall

    Ensemble  Works

    Works by Anna Korsun, Joanna Wozny & Johannes Kalitzke as well as a new composition by Johannes Maria Staud.

    Read more

 

By using this website you agree to accept our Privacy Policy and Terms & Conditions

ensemble

PHACE »Figuren am Horizont«

15.May.2020 // 19:30
Wiener Konzerthaus, Berio Hall

PHACE Series 19/20 – N°4

a production by PHACE & Wiener Konzerthaus

 

 

 

ARTISTS

Ivana Pristašová, Violine
Johannes Kalitzke
, Dirigent

PHACE

 

 

 

PROGRAMM

Johannes Maria Staud
Neues Werk für Ensemble (2019/20) (UA)
Auftragswerk von PHACE, Osterfestival Tirol, mit Unterstützung durch das Wiener Konzerthaus

Anna Korsun
Plexus für Ensemble (2014) (ÖEA)

Joanna Wozny
like little … sunderings
für Flöte, Klarinette, Saxophon, Klavier, Violine, Violoncello, Kontrabass, Zuspielungen (2016)

Johannes Kalitzke
Figuren am Horizont
– Fünf Nachrufe für Solovioline und sechs Spieler (2011)

Es kreischt, keucht, flirrt, taucht träge aus pulsierenden, klanglichen Untiefen, um sogleich zart tänzelnd wieder in luftigsten Höhen zu verschwinden. Verspielt, aber virtuos schafft Anna Korsun mit Plexus für Ensemble ein faszinierendes Hyperinstrument, wo einzelne instrumentale Aktionen winzige Segmente darstellen, die sich zu einem schaurig schönen Klangorganismus verbinden.
like little … sunderings von Joanna Wozny beschäftigt sich auf zwei verschiedene Arten mit dem akustischen Erscheinungsbild von Sprache. Mittels elektronischer Transformation der Sprachanteile (Filterung, Verzerrung) wird Sprache zum Geräusch und indem sie geflüsterte Sprache, reduziert zu einzelnen Zischlauten im tief gefilterten weißen Rauschen der Elektronik auflöst, wird Geräusch als (mögliche) Sprache empfunden.
Mit Figuren am Horizont hat Johannes Kalitzke mit klingenden Nachrufen verstorbener Künstlerkollegen gedacht. Diese werden aber nicht namentlich genannt, da es ihm um „Nachruftypen“ geht: In jedem der fünf Sätze findet der Wechsel vom einen in den anderen Zustand in unterschiedlicher Weise statt. Entweder wird der Übergang vom Leben zum Tod akzeptiert oder als unhinnehmbar betrachtet. Als Metaphern hierfür und als Kompositionsgrundlage zugleich fungieren mal mathematisch-abstrakte Prinzipien, mal historische Stilzitate. In der abschließenden Skizze für ein Haus im Licht tauchen zuvor bereits gehörte Elemente wieder auf und unterliegen einem Klärungsprozess, „bis der Schatten eines Wienerlieds übrigbleibt“.
Von Johannes Maria Staud erwarten wir mit Spannung ein neues Werk für Ensemble.
Einzeltickets für PHACE-Zykluskonzerte

Erhältlich über die Website des Wiener Konzerthauses – ab Herbst 2019!
www.konzerthaus.at

Event Dates

May 2020
  • Date
    Project
    Location
  • 15.May.2020 19:30

    PHACE series @KH #4 | Figuren am Horizont

    Vienna, Wiener Konzerthaus, Berio Hall

    Ensemble

    Werke von Anna Korsun, Joanna Wozny & Johannes Kalitzke sowie eine neue Komposition von Johannes Maria Staud.

    Read more