music theatre

Lies of Civilization

18.Jul.2019 // 20:00 (world premiere)
19.Jul.2019 // 19:00
Stuttgart, Theaterhaus – Südseite P1

 

Musiktheatertage Wien
13.Sept.2019, 19:00 (austrian premiere)
14.Sept.2019, 19:00
WUK Projektraum
Währinger Str. 59, 1090 Wien

Neue Vokalsolisten Stuttgart

Truike van der Poel, Mezzosopran
Martin Nagy, Tenor
Guillermo Anzorena, Bariton
Andreas Fischer, Bass

Soloists of PHACE

 Mathilde Hoursiangou, keyboard/sampler
Reinhold Brunner, clarinet(s)
Berndt Thurner, percussion

 

TEAM
Staging: Gable & Romy Roelofsen / Het Geluid Maastricht
Equipment: Davy van Gerven;
Light: Luc Schaltin
Dramaturgy: Georg Steker, Christine Fischer, Het Geluid
Idea and Concept: Georg Steker
Production Manager: Jakob Berger / Music of the Centuries Stuttgart

 

a coproduction by Musik der Jahrhunderte Stuttgart (DE), Musiktheatertage Wien (AT), Operadagen Rotterdam (NL), National Opera Bergen (NO) und Het Geluid Maastricht (NL).

“In the name of civilization, Western values, democracy and peace …”

LIES of CIVILIZATION investigates the fractures of the “myth of civilization”, which is deeply woven into the values ​​of Western cultural history. Four representatives of a young generation of composers formulate their positions on CIVILIZATION LIES and know that the euphoria over civilization achievements all too often obscures the inhumane machinations and crimes behind it.
All four short pieces are staged by Het Geluid Maastricht and put into a full-length musical theater. With the Neue Vocalsolisten Stuttgart and the Ensemble PHACE, two internationally renowned artist groups are ready for this.

 

PROGRAM

Yiran Zhao: THE SINGLE DAY (working title)*
for mezzo soprano and three instruments wp

“I invite you to think more carefully about what we believe we know and what the real reality of the relationship between us and our environment is.” (Yiran Zhao)

Natalia Domínguez Rangel: The Invisible
for tenor, bass, percussion, synthesizer and electronics wp

“Political power is exercised on the individual so that he must obey the laws and rules himself – usually without using force. I like this idea of ​​invisibility. An underlying force, invisible and effective (good or bad). “
(Natalia Domínguez Rangel)

Øyvind Mæland: Part of the Job
for four voices, clarinet and percussion wp

“What worries me is the extent to which people are actually habit animals: today with all the knowledge acquired about human psychology, the causes of climate change and social inequality … even the well educated people among us are part of this spiral.” (Øyvind Mæland)

Malte Giesen: white border
for three male voices, three instruments and electronics wp

“I’m interested in frames, framing, contexts, framing – in particular, the mediatedness of any communication.” (Malte Giesen)

 

Duration: 75 minutes, no break – In English with German subtitles

Composition commissioned by the Musiktheatertage Wien, financed by the Ernst von Siemens Music Foundation

Tickets for LIES OF CIVILIZATION

Event Dates

September 2019
  • Date
    Project
    Location
  • 14.Sep.2019 19:00

    Lies of Civilization

    Wien, WUK - Projektraum

    LIES of CIVILIZATION examines the fractures of the "myth of civilization", which is deeply woven into the values of Western cultural history. Four representatives of a young generation of composers formulate their positions on CIVILIZATION LIES and know that the euphoria over civilization achievements all too often obscures the inhumane machinations and crimes behind it.

    Read more
  • 13.Sep.2019 19:00

    Lies of Civilization

    Wien, WUK - Projektraum

    LIES of CIVILIZATION examines the fractures of the "myth of civilization", which is deeply woven into the values of Western cultural history. Four representatives of a young generation of composers formulate their positions on CIVILIZATION LIES and know that the euphoria over civilization achievements all too often obscures the inhumane machinations and crimes behind it.

    Read more
July 2019
  • Date
    Project
    Location
  • 19.Jul.2019 19:00

    Lies of Civilization

    Stuttgart

    LIES of CIVILIZATION examines the fractures of the "myth of civilization", which is deeply woven into the values of Western cultural history. Four representatives of a young generation of composers formulate their positions on CIVILIZATION LIES and know that the euphoria over civilization achievements all too often obscures the inhumane machinations and crimes behind it.

    Read more
  • 18.Jul.2019 20:00

    Lies of Civilization

    Stuttgart

    LIES of CIVILIZATION examines the fractures of the "myth of civilization", which is deeply woven into the values of Western cultural history. Four representatives of a young generation of composers formulate their positions on CIVILIZATION LIES and know that the euphoria over civilization achievements all too often obscures the inhumane machinations and crimes behind it.

    Read more

 

By using this website you agree to accept our Privacy Policy and Terms & Conditions

music theatre

Lies of Civilization

18.Jul.2019 // 20:00 (UA)
19.Jul.2019 // 19:00
Stuttgart, Theaterhaus – Südseite P1

 

im Rahmen der Musiktheatertage Wien
13.Sept.2019, 19:00 (ÖEA)
14.Sept.2019, 19:00
WUK Projektraum
Währinger Str. 59, 1090 Wien

Neue Vokalsolisten Stuttgart

Truike van der Poel, Mezzosopran
Martin Nagy, Tenor
Guillermo Anzorena, Bariton
Andreas Fischer, Bass

 

PHACE

 Mathilde Hoursiangou, keyboard/sampler
Reinhold Brunner, clarinet(s)
Berndt Thurner, percussion

 

TEAM

Staging: Gable & Romy Roelofsen / Het Geluid Maastricht
Equipment: Davy van Gerven;
Light: Luc Schaltin
Dramaturgy: Georg Steker, Christine Fischer, Het Geluid
Idea and Concept: Georg Steker
Production Manager: Jakob Berger / Music of the Centuries Stuttgart

 

a coproduction by Musik der Jahrhunderte Stuttgart (DE), Musiktheatertage Wien (AT), Operadagen Rotterdam (NL), National Opera Bergen (NO) und Het Geluid Maastricht (NL).

„Im Namen der Zivilisation, der westlichen Werte, der Demokratie und des Friedens …“

 

LIES of CIVILIZATION untersucht die Bruchstellen des „Zivilisations-Mythos“, der tief ins Wertegeflecht der westlichen Kulturgeschichte eingewoben ist. Vier VertreterInnen einer jungen KomponistInnen-Generation formulieren ihre Positionen zu ZIVILISATIONSLÜGEN und wissen, dass die Euphorie über zivilisatorische Errungenschaften die unmenschlichen Machenschaften und Verbrechen dahinter all zu oft verdeckt.
Alle vier Kurzstücke werden von Het Geluid Maastricht inszeniert und in ein abendfüllendes Musiktheater gesetzt. Mit den Neuen Vocalsolisten Stuttgart und dem Ensemble PHACE stehen hierfür zwei international renommierte KünstlerInnen-Kollektive bereit.

 

PROGRAMM

Yiran Zhao: THE SINGLE DAY (Arbeitstitel)*
für Mezzosopran und drei InstrumenteUA

„Ich möchte einladen, mit größerer Sorgfalt zu überdenken, was wir zu kennen glauben und was dabei die eigentliche Wirklichkeit der Beziehung zwischen uns und unserer Umgebung ist.“(Yiran Zhao)

Natalia Domínguez Rangel: The Invisible
für Tenor, Bass, Perkussion, Synthesizer and ElektronikUA

„Politische Macht wird auf den Einzelnen so ausgeübt, dass er die Gesetze und Regeln selbst befolgen muss – zumeist ohne Gewaltanwendung. Ich mag diese Idee der Unsichtbarkeit. Eine zugrunde liegende Kraft, unsichtbar und effektiv (gut oder schlecht).“
(Natalia Domínguez Rangel)

Øyvind Mæland: Neues Werk
für vier Stimmen, Klarinette und SchlagzeugUA

„Beunruhigend finde ich, inwieweit Menschen tatsächlich Gewohnheitstiere sind: Heute mit all dem erworbenen Wissen über die menschliche Psychologie, die Ursachen des Klimawandels und sozialer Ungleichheit … selbst die gut ausgebildeten Leute unter uns, sind Teil dieser Spirale.“ (Øyvind Mæland)

Malte Giesen: white border
für drei Männerstimmen, drei Instrumente und ElektronikUA

„Mich interessieren Rahmen, Rahmungen, Kontexte, Framing – im Spezielleren die Vermitteltheit jedweder Kommunikation.“ (Malte Giesen)

Kompositionsauftrag der Musiktheatertage Wien finanziert durch die Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung 


Stückdauer: 75 Minuten, keine Pause – In englischer Sprache mit deutschen Untertiteln

Tickets for LIES OF CIVILIZATION

Event Dates

July 2019
  • Date
    Project
    Location
  • 18.Jul.2019 20:00

    Lies of Civilization

    Stuttgart

    LIES of CIVILIZATION untersucht die Bruchstellen des „Zivilisations-Mythos“, der tief ins Wertegeflecht der westlichen Kulturgeschichte eingewoben ist. Vier VertreterInnen einer jungen KomponistInnen-Generation formulieren ihre Positionen zu ZIVILISATIONSLÜGEN und wissen, dass die Euphorie über zivilisatorische Errungenschaften die unmenschlichen Machenschaften und Verbrechen dahinter all zu oft verdeckt.

    Read more
September 2019
  • Date
    Project
    Location
  • 13.Sep.2019 19:00

    Lies of Civilization

    Wien, WUK - Projektraum

    LIES of CIVILIZATION untersucht die Bruchstellen des „Zivilisations-Mythos“, der tief ins Wertegeflecht der westlichen Kulturgeschichte eingewoben ist. Vier VertreterInnen einer jungen KomponistInnen-Generation formulieren ihre Positionen zu ZIVILISATIONSLÜGEN und wissen, dass die Euphorie über zivilisatorische Errungenschaften die unmenschlichen Machenschaften und Verbrechen dahinter all zu oft verdeckt.

    Read more
  • 14.Sep.2019 19:00

    Lies of Civilization

    Wien, WUK - Projektraum

    LIES of CIVILIZATION untersucht die Bruchstellen des „Zivilisations-Mythos“, der tief ins Wertegeflecht der westlichen Kulturgeschichte eingewoben ist. Vier VertreterInnen einer jungen KomponistInnen-Generation formulieren ihre Positionen zu ZIVILISATIONSLÜGEN und wissen, dass die Euphorie über zivilisatorische Errungenschaften die unmenschlichen Machenschaften und Verbrechen dahinter all zu oft verdeckt.

    Read more
July 2019
  • Date
    Project
    Location
  • 19.Jul.2019 19:00

    Lies of Civilization

    Stuttgart

    LIES of CIVILIZATION untersucht die Bruchstellen des „Zivilisations-Mythos“, der tief ins Wertegeflecht der westlichen Kulturgeschichte eingewoben ist. Vier VertreterInnen einer jungen KomponistInnen-Generation formulieren ihre Positionen zu ZIVILISATIONSLÜGEN und wissen, dass die Euphorie über zivilisatorische Errungenschaften die unmenschlichen Machenschaften und Verbrechen dahinter all zu oft verdeckt.

    Read more

 

By using this website you agree to accept our Privacy Policy and Terms & Conditions