Ensemble

Monadologie XVIII – Moving Architecture

for voice and ensemble, based on construction plans of the Austrian Cultural Forum New York by R. Abraham

30.Apr.2022 // 20:00
Barcelona, L’auditori / Sampler Series

 a production by PHACE

 

Music

Bernhard Lang

Conductor

Nacho de Paz

Singer

Daisy Press

Sound

Alfred Reiter

 

PHACE

Alessandro Baticci, flute
Reinhold Brunner, clarinet
Reinhard Zmölnig, horn
Spiros Laskaridis, trumpet
Mathilde Hoursiangou, synthesizer
Lukas König, percussion
Ivana Pristasova, violin
Petra Ackermann, viola
Manuel Schager, cello
Maximilian Ölz, double bass

Monadologie XVIII – Moving Architecture is conceptually based on the proportional implementation of the side view plans of the ACF (Austrian Cultural Forum) in New York City by Raimund Abraham. The temporal resolution of the architecture introduces the parameter of movement into the concept, initially conceived as the movement of sound. Lang’s use of repetitive patterns, which are immanent in movement, generate rhythms and convey pulsations, as well as their production by the musicians, leads to an involuntary, internal logic of movement. It is the poetry of homelessness, of emigration that permeates the texts of Rose Ausländer, who as an emigrant was close to the ACF in the post-war years and whose texts flow into the work. Emigration as a consistent theme of the composition contrasts with the closedness of the architectural space, enters into a discourse with it through the concept of movement, tries to open it up to the outside and inside:

Four walls, a ceiling and a floor
Is it a room ? Is it a cell?
If not for window and for door
It might seem a part of hell
(Rose Ausländer)

PRESS REVIEW

22.11.2015 |  Michaela Preiner   European Cultural News
Ensemble PHACE is one of the world’s best ensembles for contemporary music. They distinguish themselves by flexibility and courage… Such impressions may indicate how wonderfully Lang, Grabinger and their musicians did their job. The piece itself has the potential to become an iconic work of the beginning 21th century. One doesn’t need more than understanding eyes and trained ears to recognize what incredible, farseeing creative potential Monadology XVIII “Moving Architecture” contains.      

Event Dates

October 2020
  • Date
    Project
    Location
  • 14.Oct.2020 20:00

    Monadologie XVIII - Bernhard Lang (Cancellation due to COVID-19)

    Barcelona, L'auditori - Sampler Series

    Monadologie XVIII - Moving Architecture is conceptually based on the proportional implementation of the side view plans of the ACF (Austrian Cultural Forum) in New York City by Raimund Abraham. The temporal resolution of the architecture introduces the parameter of movement into the concept, as the movement of sound ...

    Read more
April 2022
  • Date
    Project
    Location
  • 30.Apr.2022 20:00

    Monadologie XVIII - Moving Architecture

    Barcelona, L'Auditori

    Monadologie XVIII - Moving Architecture is conceptually based on the proportional implementation of the side view plans of the ACF (Austrian Cultural Forum) in New York City by Raimund Abraham. The temporal resolution of the architecture introduces the parameter of movement into the concept, as the movement of sound ...

    Read more

 

By using this website you agree to accept our Privacy Policy and Terms & Conditions

Ensemble

Monadologie XVIII – Moving Architecture

for voice and ensemble, based on construction plans of the Austrian Cultural Forum New York by R. Abraham

30.Apr.2022 // 20:00
Barcelona, L’auditori / Sampler Series

 a production by PHACE

 

Music

Bernhard Lang

Conductor

Nacho de Paz

Singer

Daisy Press

Sound

Alfred Reiter

 

PHACE

Alessandro Baticci, flute
Reinhold Brunner, clarinet
Reinhard Zmölnig, horn
Spiros Laskaridis, trumpet
Mathilde Hoursiangou, synthesizer
Lukas König, percussion
Ivana Pristasova, violin
Petra Ackermann, viola
Manuel Schager, cello
Maximilian Ölz, double bass

Monadologie XVIII – Moving Architecture basiert konzeptuell auf der proportionalen Umsetzung der Seitenansichtspläne des ACF (Austrian Cultural Forum) in New York City von Raimund Abraham. Die zeitliche Auflösung der Architektur führt den Parameter der Bewegung in das Konzept ein, zunächst gedacht als Bewegung des Klanges. Langs Verwendung von Wiederholungsmustern, welche immanent Bewegung sind, Rhythmen erzeugen und Pulsationen vermitteln sowie deren Produktion durch die MusikerInnen führt zu einer unwillkürlichen, inneren Bewegungslogik. Es ist die Poesie der Heimatlosigkeit, der Emigration, die die Texte von Rose Ausländer durchziehen, die als Emigrantin dem ACF in den Nachkriegsjahren nahestand und deren Texte in das Werk einfließen. Emigration steht als durchgängiges Thema der Komposition der Geschlossenheit des architektonischen Raumes gegenüber, tritt durch den Begriff der Bewegung mit diesem in einen Diskurs ein, versucht ihn nach außen und innen zu öffnen:

Four walls, a ceiling and a floor
Is it a room ? Is it a cell?
If not for window and for door
It might seem a part of hell
(Rose Ausländer)

 

PRESSEMELDUNGEN
22.11.2015 |  Michaela Preiner   European Cultural News
Sie gehören weltweit zu den besten Ensembles für zeitgenössische Musik. Sie zeichnen sich durch ihre Flexibilität und ihren Mut aus, Neues auszuprobieren. Beides brauchten die Damen und Herren des Ensemble Phace bei der österreichischen Uraufführung von Monadology XVIII «Moving Architecture». …  Das Stück hat das Zeug, sich zu einer Musik- und Tanzikone des beginnenden 21. Jahrhunderts zu mausern. Dazu bedarf es nicht viel mehr, als einiger verständnisvoller Augen und geschulter Ohren, die sehen und hören, welch unglaubliches, vorausschauendes Kreativpotential in Monadology XVII „Moving Architecture“ enthalten ist. Und dies weitertragen oder damit weiterarbeiten.
 19.11.2015 – Tiroler Tageszeitung (online) – www.tt.com
…Auf stufenförmig angelegten Podien saßen die Künstler, ganz in weiß gekleidet und das Gesicht von ebenfalls weißem Band umrahmt. Mit dem Beginn schien man schon mittendrin, setzten geräuschhafte Kulissen aus flirrenden Streichern und leichter Perkussion an, um Stockwerk für Stockwerk in die Höhe zu gleiten. Immer wieder schälte sich ein vorsichtiger Groove aus der pulsierenden Klanglandschaft, hypnotisch und einnehmend. Am Ende der knapp 70-minütigen Aufführung, die am heutigen Donnerstag nochmals zu erleben ist, gab es großen Applaus für alle Beteiligten.
19.11.2015 http://www.tanz.at/ Edith Wolf Perez (Monadology XVIII «Moving Architecture»)
…Überzeugend hingegen das Ensemble Phace mit ihrer musikalischen Interpretation und vor allem die Sängerin Daisy Press mit ihrer facettenreichen Stimme…

Event Dates

October 2020
  • Date
    Project
    Location
  • 14.Oct.2020 20:00

    Monadologie XVIII - Bernhard Lang (Absage wegen COVID-19)

    Barcelona, L'auditori - Sampler Series

    Monadologie XVIII - Moving Architecture basiert konzeptuell auf der proportionalen Umsetzung der Seitenansichtspläne des ACF (Austrian Cultural Forum) in New York City von Raimund Abraham. Die zeitliche Auflösung der Architektur führt den Parameter der Bewegung in das Konzept ein, als Bewegung des Klanges...

    Read more
April 2022
  • Date
    Project
    Location
  • 30.Apr.2022 20:00

    Monadologie XVIII - Moving Architecture

    Barcelona, L'Auditori

    Monadologie XVIII - Moving Architecture basiert konzeptuell auf der proportionalen Umsetzung der Seitenansichtspläne des ACF (Austrian Cultural Forum) in New York City von Raimund Abraham. Die zeitliche Auflösung der Architektur führt den Parameter der Bewegung in das Konzept ein, als Bewegung des Klanges...

    Read more

 

By using this website you agree to accept our Privacy Policy and Terms & Conditions