video opera

Renacer

Nov. 27, 2022 – 18:00 (wp)
Vienna, Wien Modern
Odeon, Taborstr. 10

Dec. 6th, 2022 – 20:00
Sevilla
Espacio Turina

Alberto Carretero, music
Francisco Deco, libretto
Miguel Alonso (Cyan Animática), video

Nacho de Paz, conductor
Johanna Vargas, soprano

PHACE
Doris Nicoletti, flute
Reinhold Brunner, clarinet
Spiros Laskaridis, trumpet
Stefan Obmann, trombone
Berndt Thurner, percussion
Anna Lindenbaum, violin
Alexandra Dienz, double bass

SOUND DIRECTOR
Alfred Reiter

supported by the Spanish Embassy in Vienna

Renacer addresses the natural cycles of birth and rebirth and looks into a possible future at the dawn of a biotechnological revolution. Francisco Deco’s lyrics open up multifaceted visions of existence where death and transience take a back seat to the power of germination and regeneration. In many of Alberto Carretero’s works, biological processes serve as inspiration and blueprint for his music. Using artificial intelligence and membrane computing, he develops algorithmic compositions that simulate the growth and behavior of living organisms and translate them into sonic narratives. On the one hand, life within a cell and its membranes is made audible by means of sonification. On the other hand, the personal interpretation of these biological processes creates a symbiosis with libretto and images, and from this in turn new musical gestures, sounds and forms. Electronics and video are closely and mutually connected to the bio-inspired compositional processes. Mutation, mitosis, meiosis, tissue formation, reproduction, and nerve connections open a musical reflection process and become a metaphor of genesis: birth, rebirth, and creation itself.

 

Renacer
Video-Oper von Alberto Carretero
for voice, seven instruments, elektronics und video, 2022 (wp) D: 65′

Libretto: Francisco Deco
Video: Miguel Alonso (CYAN ANIMÁTICA) based on paintings by  Juan Lacomba

a production by PHACE in co-production with Wien Modern and Espacio Turina Sevilla, financend and made possible with a 2021 Leonardo Grant for Researchers and Cultural Creators, BBVA Foundation.

Event Dates

November 2022
  • Date
    Project
    Location
  • 27.Nov.2022 18:00

    Renacer

    Vienna, Wien Modern - Odeon Theater

    In many of Alberto Carretero's works, biological processes serve as inspiration and blueprint for his music. Using artificial intelligence and membrane computing, he develops algorithmic compositions that simulate the growth and behavior of living organisms and translate them into sonic narratives...

    Read more
December 2022
  • Date
    Project
    Location
  • 06.Dec.2022 20:00

    Renacer

    Sevilla - Espacio Turina

    In many of Alberto Carretero's works, biological processes serve as inspiration and blueprint for his music. Using artificial intelligence and membrane computing, he develops algorithmic compositions that simulate the growth and behavior of living organisms and translate them into sonic narratives...

    Read more

 

By using this website you agree to accept our Privacy Policy and Terms & Conditions

video opera

Renacer

Nov. 27, 2022 – 18:00 (wp)
Vienna, Wien Modern
Odeon, Taborstr. 10

Dec. 6th, 2022 – 20:00
Sevilla
Espacio Turina

 

Nacho de Paz, conductor
Johanna Vargas, soprano

PHACE
Doris Nicoletti, flute
Reinhold Brunner, clarinet
Spiros Laskaridis, trumpet
Stefan Obmann, trombone
Berndt Thurner, percussion
Ivana Pristasova, violin
Alexandra Dienz, double bass

SOUND DIRECTOR
Alfred Reiter

Renacer thematisiert die natürlichen Zyklen von Geburt und Wiedergeburt und wirft einen Blick in eine mögliche Zukunft, am Beginn einer biotechnologischen Revolution. Die Texte von Francisco Deco eröffnen facettenreiche Visionen des Daseins, wo Tod und Vergänglichkeit angesichts der Kraft des Keimens und der Regeneration in den Hintergrund treten. Biologische Prozesse dienen Alberto Carretero in vielen Werken als Inspiration und Bauplan für seine Musik. Mit Hilfe von künstlicher Intelligenz und Membrane-Computing entwickelt er algorithmische Kompositionen, die das Wachstum und Verhalten von lebenden Organismen simulieren und in klangliche Erzählungen übersetzen. Einerseits wird mittels Sonifikation das Leben innerhalb einer Zelle und ihrer Membranen hörbar gemacht. Andererseits entsteht aus der persönlichen Interpretation dieser biologischen Prozesse eine Symbiose mit Libretto und Bildern und daraus wiederum neue musikalische Gesten, Klänge und Formen. Elektronik und Video stehen in enger und wechselseitiger Verbindung zu den bioinspirierten Kompositionsprozessen. Mutation, Mitose, Meiose, Gewebebildung, Fortpflanzung, und Nervenverbindungen öffnen einen musikalischen Reflexionsprozess und werden zur Metapher der Genese: der Geburt, der Wiedergeburt und der Schöpfung selbst.

Event Dates

November 2022
  • Date
    Project
    Location
  • 27.Nov.2022 18:00

    Renacer

    Vienna, Wien Modern - Odeon Theater

    Biologische Prozesse dienen Alberto Carretero in vielen Werken als Inspiration und Bauplan für seine Musik. Mit Hilfe von künstlicher Intelligenz und Membrane-Computing entwickelt er algorithmische Kompositionen, die das Wachstum und Verhalten von lebenden Organismen simulieren und in klangliche Erzählungen übersetzen...

    Read more
December 2022
  • Date
    Project
    Location
  • 06.Dec.2022 20:00

    Renacer

    Sevilla - Espacio Turina

    Biologische Prozesse dienen Alberto Carretero in vielen Werken als Inspiration und Bauplan für seine Musik. Mit Hilfe von künstlicher Intelligenz und Membrane-Computing entwickelt er algorithmische Kompositionen, die das Wachstum und Verhalten von lebenden Organismen simulieren und in klangliche Erzählungen übersetzen...

    Read more

 

By using this website you agree to accept our Privacy Policy and Terms & Conditions